Angebote zu "Dead" (109 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Beastly Things: A Commissario Guido Brunetti My...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

When a body is found floating in a canal, strangely disfigured and with multiple stab wounds, Commissario Brunetti is called to investigate and is convinced he recognises the man from somewhere. However, with no identification except for the distinctive shoes the man was wearing, and no reports of people missing from the Venice area, the case cannot progress. Brunetti soon realises why he remembers the dead man, and asks Signorina Elettra if she can help him find footage of a farmers' protest the previous autumn. But what was his involvement with the protest, and what does it have to do with his murder? Acting on the fragile lead, Brunetti and Inspector Vianello set out to uncover the man's identity. Their investigation eventually takes them to a slaughterhouse on the mainland, where they discover the origin of the crime and the world of blackmail and corruption that surrounds it. Both a gripping case and a harrowing exploration of the dark side of Italy's meat industry, Donna Leon's latest novel is a compelling addition to the Brunetti series. 1. Language: English. Narrator: David Colacci. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/rhuk/001253/bk_rhuk_001253_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 28.11.2020
Zum Angebot
Black Day at the Bosphorus Cafe , Hörbuch, Digi...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

When Mina, a Kurdish student activist, plunges in flames from the top floor of Wood Green Shopping City, it’s widely assumed to be a political protest. But local reporter Rex Tracey, who knew the dead girl, doesn’t buy it. His suspicions mount when a council whistleblower meets a similarly ugly end. As he investigates, the sleuthing journalist with the chequered past and the penchant for Polish lager is sucked into a world of honour killings, corrupt officials, and clashing traditions. 1. Language: English. Narrator: David Thorpe. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/oakh/000723/bk_oakh_000723_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 28.11.2020
Zum Angebot
Dear Kendra: Journal of a Female Serial Killer ...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

I was born on February 14, 1970 at 5:35 a.m. My mother was pronounced dead at 5:37 a.m. Women had not achieved equality with men in any country. Four students at Kent State University in Ohio were killed by National Guardsmen at a protest about American incursion into Cambodia. The unemployment rate stood at 3.5 percent. The cost of a first-class stamp was six cents. The Beatles broke up. Jimi Hendrix and Janis Joplin both died drug-related deaths at age 27. IBM introduced the floppy disk. Yes, it was quite a year. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Kym Datura. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/016666/bk_acx0_016666_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 28.11.2020
Zum Angebot
Going Under , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 691min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The future looks bleak for Aidan Walsh. He stands to lose his job as the last major employer in a dead-end Welsh town prepares to close its factory and relocate to India. Then Aidan hatches a startling plan. He buries himself alive in a coffin in his back garden, announcing that he's not coming out until everyone's job is saved.Slowly, people warm to his cause, locally at first and then from futher afield as news of his remarkable protest travels. And so begins a titanic battle of wills between an unlikely hero and a powerful corporation. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Wayne Forester. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/oakh/000119/bk_oakh_000119_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 28.11.2020
Zum Angebot
The Five Bells and Bladebone: A Richard Jury My...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

When a dismembered corpse is found in the compartments of an antique secretaire a abattant, Marshall Trueblood, recipient of the precious piece of furniture, is the first to protest: "I bought the desk, not the body, send it back" Who would want to kill Simon Lean, the greedy nephew of the wealthy Lady Summerston? Leave it to Superintendent Richard Jury of Scotland Yard to suggest a connection to the murder of brassy Limehouse lady named Sadie Driver, found dead near Wapping Old Stairs - if that stone-cold body on the slipway is really Sadie. Not even her brother, Tommy, on a visit from Gravesend, can swear to it. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Steve West. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/sans/006533/bk_sans_006533_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 28.11.2020
Zum Angebot
Deadly Secret of the Lusitania , Hörbuch, Digit...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In 1915, a German U-boat sank the British passenger liner Lusitania. Many Americans, including women and children, were among the 1200 dead, so the crime caused a storm of protest in America and helped plunge the US into World War I. In this gripping novel, an insurance investigator and his fiancée help a murdered longshoreman's widow who's been unjustly denied her husband's life insurance. Finding themselves in possession of documents detailing the Lusitania's secret cargo, the couple are targeted by German and British spies, Irish republicans, a rogue socialist, and the newly-formed FBI, all wanting to use the suppressed material for their own purposes. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Jarvis Hooten. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/077614/bk_acx0_077614_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 28.11.2020
Zum Angebot
The Blood Is Still (eBook, ePUB)
15,62 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Investigative journalist Rebecca Connolly returns in this riveting, immersive thriller from the author of Thunder Bay-for readers of Ian Rankin, Val McDermid, and Denise Mina When a man in eighteenth-century Highland dress is found dead on the site of the Battle of Culloden, where Bonnie Prince Charlie led his forces to a rout seared into Scottish memory, Rebecca Connolly takes up the case for the Chronicle. A controversial film about the rebellion and battle is being shot nearby, and it has drawn the ire of the right-wing nationalist movement Spirit of the Gael. Is there some link between the murder-the weapon used to impale the man leaves no doubt it was murder-and Spirit of the Gael or the shadowy militant group New Dawn, thought to be associated with them? Meanwhile, in the working-class part of town, Rebecca's assignment to cover a protest against the placement of a convicted child molester into the community leads her to Mo Burke, the unlikely protest leader. Mo is a formidable woman, but she is also the matriarch of a known crime family and usually prefers to shun the spotlight. What has drawn her out? And what of her two grown sons, who share in the family business? The older one, Nolan, with Ben Affleck good looks, is clearly intrigued by Rebecca, as she is by him, despite her better instincts to steer clear of their dangerous, violent world. And then another body is found, this one wearing the Redcoat uniform of the victorious British army.

Anbieter: buecher
Stand: 28.11.2020
Zum Angebot
The Blood Is Still (eBook, ePUB)
16,06 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Investigative journalist Rebecca Connolly returns in this riveting, immersive thriller from the author of Thunder Bay-for readers of Ian Rankin, Val McDermid, and Denise Mina When a man in eighteenth-century Highland dress is found dead on the site of the Battle of Culloden, where Bonnie Prince Charlie led his forces to a rout seared into Scottish memory, Rebecca Connolly takes up the case for the Chronicle. A controversial film about the rebellion and battle is being shot nearby, and it has drawn the ire of the right-wing nationalist movement Spirit of the Gael. Is there some link between the murder-the weapon used to impale the man leaves no doubt it was murder-and Spirit of the Gael or the shadowy militant group New Dawn, thought to be associated with them? Meanwhile, in the working-class part of town, Rebecca's assignment to cover a protest against the placement of a convicted child molester into the community leads her to Mo Burke, the unlikely protest leader. Mo is a formidable woman, but she is also the matriarch of a known crime family and usually prefers to shun the spotlight. What has drawn her out? And what of her two grown sons, who share in the family business? The older one, Nolan, with Ben Affleck good looks, is clearly intrigued by Rebecca, as she is by him, despite her better instincts to steer clear of their dangerous, violent world. And then another body is found, this one wearing the Redcoat uniform of the victorious British army.

Anbieter: buecher
Stand: 28.11.2020
Zum Angebot
Beastly Things: A Commissario Guido Brunetti My...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

When a man is found stabbed to death floating in the canal, Commissario Brunetti is convinced he recognises him from somewhere. But with no identification on the body and no reports of people missing from the Venice area, it seems as if he has appeared from nowhere, and the case is at a dead end. It doesn't take long for Brunetti to realise why he remembers the dead man - he saw him at a demonstration a couple of years ago, where farmers were protesting about European milk quotas. But what was his involvement with the protest? And could it have anything to do with his murder? Having nothing to go on but the distinctive shoes the man was wearing and a disease that had left his body strangely deformed, Brunetti and Inspector Vianello set out to try and discover the man's identity. Their investigation eventually takes them to a slaughterhouse at Preganziol, on the mainland. It is there that Brunetti discovers the dead man's connection with the slaughterhouse and the world of blackmail and corruption that surrounds it. With a gripping case set before a harrowing exploration of the meat industry, Donna Leon's latest novel is a dark and compelling addition to the Brunetti series. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Andrew Sachs. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/rhuk/001245/bk_rhuk_001245_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 28.11.2020
Zum Angebot