Angebote zu "Fail" (31 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Power and Protest at an American University (eB...
27,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

This book examines the successful no-confidence movement led by faculty at Saint Louis University in 2013 in an effort to unseat the university president, considering the reasons for success when similar movements often fail. Through a series of chapters written by faculty from many disciplines at the university, it uses a particular episode of faculty protest to shed light on wider issues concerning the circumstances in which faculty are likely to be motivated to protest, the institutional frameworks that make protest possible and the strategies that get results. As such, it will appeal to scholars of social movements with interests in protest and mobilization in the field of education.

Anbieter: buecher
Stand: 23.10.2020
Zum Angebot
Power and Protest at an American University (eB...
27,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

This book examines the successful no-confidence movement led by faculty at Saint Louis University in 2013 in an effort to unseat the university president, considering the reasons for success when similar movements often fail. Through a series of chapters written by faculty from many disciplines at the university, it uses a particular episode of faculty protest to shed light on wider issues concerning the circumstances in which faculty are likely to be motivated to protest, the institutional frameworks that make protest possible and the strategies that get results. As such, it will appeal to scholars of social movements with interests in protest and mobilization in the field of education.

Anbieter: buecher
Stand: 23.10.2020
Zum Angebot
Power and Protest at an American University (eB...
27,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

This book examines the successful no-confidence movement led by faculty at Saint Louis University in 2013 in an effort to unseat the university president, considering the reasons for success when similar movements often fail. Through a series of chapters written by faculty from many disciplines at the university, it uses a particular episode of faculty protest to shed light on wider issues concerning the circumstances in which faculty are likely to be motivated to protest, the institutional frameworks that make protest possible and the strategies that get results. As such, it will appeal to scholars of social movements with interests in protest and mobilization in the field of education.

Anbieter: buecher
Stand: 23.10.2020
Zum Angebot
The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora , Hörbuch, Digit...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Save the restaurant. Save the town. Get the girl. Make Abuela proud. Can 13-year-old Arturo Zamora do it all, or is he in for a big, epic fail? For Arturo, summertime in Miami means playing basketball until dark, sipping mango smoothies, and keeping cool under banyan trees. And maybe a few shifts as junior lunchtime dishwasher at Abuela's restaurant. Maybe. But this summer also includes Carmen, a cute poetry enthusiast who moves into Arturo's apartment complex and turns his stomach into a deep fryer. He almost doesn't notice the smarmy land developer who rolls into town and threatens to change it. Arturo refuses to let his family and community go down without a fight, and as he schemes with Carmen, Arturo discovers the power of poetry and protest through untold family stories and the work of José Martí. Funny and poignant, The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora is the vibrant story of a family, a striking portrait of a town, and one boy's quest to save both, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Pablo Cartaya. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/lili/002267/bk_lili_002267_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 23.10.2020
Zum Angebot
The Pipe Dreamers: A Novel of the Sixties , Hör...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Like Kent State in the late 1960s, Hayes University was in a sleepy Ohio college town. Julia Brandon, an innocent sorority girl, was in for an awakening, both emotionally and physically. Trouble begins when she tries to bail her radical roommate out of jail and escalates as she becomes increasingly involved with the protest movement which erupts in violence, death, and destruction. She falls irrevocably in love with handsome, carefree, soon-to-be drafted Win.Fifteen years later, trapped in an arid life, Julia catches a glimpse of a man whom she believes to be Win. She embarks upon a journey, which leads her to the brink of devastation. Can she accept the truth about what happened so long ago, without destroying herself and those she loves?Although it’s been some 50 years since the apex of the Vietnam protests, this reissue of The Pipe Dreamers is more relevant now than ever. Given today’s political, social, economic divisiveness, it serves as a reminder. As the saying goes: "Those who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it." 1. Language: English. Narrator: Patience Martin, Peapod Audio. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/183844/bk_acx0_183844_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 23.10.2020
Zum Angebot
The End of Policing
18,10 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The problem is not overpolicing, it is policing itselfRecent years have seen an explosion of protest and concern about police brutality and repression--especially after months of violent protest erupted in Ferguson, Missouri following the police killing of Mike Brown. Much of the conversation has focused on calls for enhancing police accountability, increasing police diversity, improving police training, and emphasizing community policing. Unfortunately, none of these is likely to produce results, because they fail to get at the core of the problem. The problem is policing itself--the dramatic expansion of the police role over the last 40 years.This book attempts to jog public discussion of policing by revealing the tainted origins of modern policing as a tool of social control and demonstrating how the expanded role of the police is inconsistent with community empowerment, social justice--even public safety. Drawing on first-hand research from across the globe, Alex Vitale shows how the implementation of alternatives to policing, like drug legalization, regulation, and harm reduction instead of the policing of drugs, has led to reductions in crime, spending, and injustice.

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 23.10.2020
Zum Angebot
The End of Policing
18,90 CHF *
zzgl. 3,50 CHF Versand

The problem is not overpolicing, it is policing itself Recent years have seen an explosion of protest and concern about police brutality and repression--especially after months of violent protest erupted in Ferguson, Missouri following the police killing of Mike Brown. Much of the conversation has focused on calls for enhancing police accountability, increasing police diversity, improving police training, and emphasizing community policing. Unfortunately, none of these is likely to produce results, because they fail to get at the core of the problem. The problem is policing itself--the dramatic expansion of the police role over the last 40 years. This book attempts to jog public discussion of policing by revealing the tainted origins of modern policing as a tool of social control and demonstrating how the expanded role of the police is inconsistent with community empowerment, social justice--even public safety. Drawing on first-hand research from across the globe, Alex Vitale shows how the implementation of alternatives to policing, like drug legalization, regulation, and harm reduction instead of the policing of drugs, has led to reductions in crime, spending, and injustice.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 23.10.2020
Zum Angebot
The Open Economy and its Enemies
222,00 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

There is a vigorous debate about the merits of globalisation for developing countries. Based on numerous focus-group discussions and over 10,000 interviews, this book studies economic and cultural openness from the perspective of the public in four developing or 'transitional' countries: Vietnam, (South) Korea, the Czech Republic and Ukraine (both before and after the Orange Revolution). It finds many supporters of opening up, but also many who are discontented with its downsides and who expect states to tackle the exploitation and unfairness that accompany it. Among the most fervent enemies of openness there is support not just for peaceful public protest to tackle the problems it brings, but for violence or sabotage. The methodology provides a unique opportunity for the public in developing countries to 'speak with their own voices' about markets and openness and highlights the subtlety, ambiguity, tensions, conflicts and emotion that statistics alone fail to capture.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 23.10.2020
Zum Angebot
Not Quite A Wife
8,40 CHF *
zzgl. 3,50 CHF Versand

'Putney's endearing characters and warm-hearted stories never fail to inspire and delight.' --Sabrina Jeffries 'No one writes historical romance better.' --Cathy Maxwell Marry in haste, repent at leisure. James, Lord Kirkland, owns a shipping fleet, half a London gaming house, and is a ruthlessly effective spymaster. He is seldom self-indulgent. . .except when it comes to the gentle, indomitable beauty who was once his wife. Laurel Herbert gave James her heart as an innocent young girl--until she saw him perform an act of shocking violence before her very eyes. That night she left her husband, and he let her go without a word of protest. Now, ten years later, a chance encounter turns passionate, with consequences that cannot be ignored. But as they try to rebuild what was broken, they must face common enemies and a very uncommon love. . .. 'Of all Putney's heroes, the Lost Lords are the most irresistible--bad boys who are so very good.' --RT Book Reviews

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 23.10.2020
Zum Angebot